Friday, January 09, 2009

Annoyance

About an hour ago I was wandering though Picasa on my computer, deleting some photos. Picasa is a free downloadable image organizer and editor from Google. Very handy, particularly in that you can upload very easily to Picasaweb, a free online photo album.

As I was looking through I said "Why are these images here? I have other copies of them. I will just delete them." So I deleted away, not bothering to read the message that came up in a box where I hit the "Yes" buttom. Suddenly I caught a glimpse of something like "this image will be deleted from your blog". WHAT!!??!!

It seems that Picasa makes folder of all the photos one puts on their blog. That folder does not show up in my Windows folder, only in Picasa.

The box said it may take up to 24 hrs before it happens. I guess I can't re-upload anything until they disappear, or I will have two copies. How annoying this is!

2 Comments:

Blogger Miss Canthus said...

It really did happen. The deleted photos disappeared. It took about 24 hrs.

I just spent about an hour uploading the lost ones. As a website designer I know coding. I can't imagine trying to do this if I didn't!!

A glass of wine by my side also helped....

7:03 PM  
Blogger Jan (Thanks For 2 Day) said...

Thanks for sharing this frustrating info. We are all learning blogger and picasa aren't perfect or even close to...but, they are free, so I guess they're a good place to start. I might end up going to something else for various reasons. But meanwhile this is good info. to know. I hope I don't end up deleting anything from my blog because I don't know coding, like you! Thank you for sharing this!
Jan

7:32 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home